The Art of Photography. Masters create pictures… they don’t just edit photos

Do photographers edit photos? Masters create pictures…

Many times people ask me if I work on my pictures. As if you commit a crime by changing the reality of what they see.

When you ask Google:
Do photographers edit photos?
The answer is: “Yes, they do. And if you’re serious about photography, YOU NEED TO. Shooting is only the first half of creating a good photograph, and it doesn’t end after you press the shutter button. Photo editing involves modifying, correcting, and adjusting your images to improve them.”
The truth is that everybody looks with their own eyes.
We have in common that we are able to look.
But, we all “see” differently.
When I work on a picture it is to show and share what I see.
Photography, architecture and construction are passions of me.
They are all connected in my spirit and soul.
When I restore a house or I buy land to build, the finished result is already in my mind. I see how it will be in seconds. Probably because of higher consciousness and not necessarily because of intelligence.
This ability comes from my soul. It is a gift that is not taught. Though, of course, I use already available techniques as a tool.
The same with photography. There are so many aspects to photography that your work as a photographer is in constant evolution.
Yes, master photographers, as all masters, work on their works, they don’t ‘blindly’ copy what they are looking at.
Many people take pictures with their smartphones. Only few really see.
Lesser even can reproduce something original created from what they see.

That’s why it’s art.

Creativity is so much more than what you ‘think’ it is, because it is about what ‘is’.
#doutti #photography #burundi

Stephan Doukhopelnikoff

Leave a comment